/ /
Sony XBR55X850A HDTV Review

Sony XBR55X850A HDTV Review

2014-04-15 21:33:58

List price: $$0.00

special offers!

Need Help

5%25% Off Select HDTVs, Plus Free Shipping! "Explore HDTV Reviews. Sony XBR55X850A HDTV Review Buy Your TV Before Sales End!" Shop LED, Plasma and LCDs Online.

Read Full Review

HDTV Sales & Deals

Sony XBR55X850A HDTV Review

Sony XBR55X850A is a great choice HDTV for 2013. After compare price this model at Amazon, Walmart, Sears and Target the price is not different much. Free shipping is must have and customer service is important. However, for customer seeking the best picture quality only, this model will fit the bill. Each TV scored at least a 9 in the Performance subrating, and in the case of a scoring tie, we've ranked them in order of which TV we think delivers a better overall picture.

Buying a budget HDTV no longer means having to settle for skewed colors and subpar image quality, but you will still have to make some sacrifices. With this TV you get solid color quality and a sharp 1080p picture that looks good from all angles, but that’s about it. This no-frills HDTV doesn't offer Internet connectivity or any Web apps, nor does it have 3D capabilities. Its contrast ratio is less than optimal as well. That said, it’s very reasonable price tag will appeal to budget-conscious shoppers.

Given the rapid evolution of the HDTV over the past few years, it's hard to believe that many of us rang in the new century watching bulky, standard-definition tube TVs. Since then, old-school CRTs have made way for slicker, multitalented high-definition sets that can do a lot more than just bring your favorite crime drama or reality show to your living room in HD every week. But with new technologies and a wider array of features, there's a lot more to decide when you're shopping for a new HDTV.

This HDTV will suit almost anyone’s tastes, because it’s both slim and cleanly designed. The picture of the Sony XBR55X850A delivers deeper black levels and better contrast than any other LCD or plasma on the market. Unlike other full-array local dimming TVs, it maintains its superior picture from normal viewing angles and blooming artifacts are virtually nonexistent. Color is relatively accurate, shadow detail is excellent and video processing does everything we expect. The screen maintains black levels well under ambient light. No-nonsense styling, best-ever energy efficiency and a nearly-complete feature set, including two pairs of 3D glasses, ice the cake tastefully.

This model produces some of the best pictures ever, with exceedingly deep black levels, highly accurate color, and perfect screen uniformity and off-angle performance. It can get brighter than competing plasmas and performs better in well-lit rooms. Although expensive, it costs much less than comparable LED and especially forthcoming OLED models. Its styling makes it as attractive as any plasma TV I've ever seen.

You won't get a lot of extras with the Sony XBR55X850A, but you won't pay a premium price for it either. What you do get is good color performance, relatively wide viewing angles, and a HD picture for around $550. Black levels and peak brightness could certainly be better.

Sony XBR55X850A HDTV Review

Brand :
Model :
Date time. 2014-04-15 21:33:58
  • Brenner
  • 2013-11-27 13:50:38
We've always had good luck with Sony and Panasonic. sony xbr55x850a review This is our second Samsung and they are in that same class of excellent televisions. .
, IP 131.253.24.48
  • Serenity
  • 2013-11-27 07:59:27
The husband did the research on this so he deserves the credit for finding it for us sony xbr55x850a review Easy as pie to set up, no complaints. Except perhaps it's yet another reason to not want to get out of bed... .
, IP 131.253.24.94
  • Faith
  • 2013-11-27 00:20:33
Great looking-Every option-Perfect picture-Great price-I would recommend this TV to everybody xbr55x850a review Fast shipping and was everything that I expected and more..
, IP 172.15.72.236
  • Olivia
  • 2013-11-27 00:20:16
I bought this TV on sale, there were a lot of concerns from other buyers (including myself) because of the price. xbr55x850a review My mom and brother also bought this TV, with my recommendation, for Christmas gifts. .
, IP 172.15.72.236
  • Ilana
  • 2013-11-25 21:21:53
Easy to install. Good instructions. sony xbr55x850a reviews 5-star definitely..
, IP 24.186.37.215
  • Willow
  • 2013-11-25 21:21:39
This tv was purchased for my daughter for her bedroom. sony xbr55x850a reviews icture quality is the best, easy to hook up and hand unit is user friendly..
, IP 24.186.37.215
  • Ryan
  • 2013-11-25 21:16:00
Pleasantly surprised! Great inexpensive bedroom addition. sony xbr55x850a reviews Was concerned that the quality would be poor since I bought this during lightning sale but this is a great 'little' tv. .
, IP 24.186.37.215
  • Isabella
  • 2013-11-24 13:51:33
I use it for watching tv, playing the two playstation 3, playing the wii, and internet. xbr55x850a review I would recommend this product..
, IP 71.33.37.176
  • Brielle
  • 2013-11-22 17:43:08
I purchased this TV because the price was right, well the TV arrived in 2 days sony xbr55x850a review I would diffently recommend this tv to anybody. .
, IP 184.183.118.6
  • Aiden
  • 2013-11-22 17:42:02
Perfect for a dorm room or a bedroom TV. sony xbr55x850a review Very lite, easy set up, excellent colors if patiently tweaked! Speaker sound is just OK as expected. LED TVs are very energy efficient..
, IP 184.183.118.6
  • Jade
  • 2013-11-22 13:06:20
It is exactly what I expected. Good picture and sound. sony xbr55x850a Good luck with your purchase! .
, IP 70.125.24.106
  • Inell
  • 2013-11-22 11:26:35
Excellent TV for the money; very happy with the product. sony xbr55x850a review Picture is very crisp. I also have a LCD TV and like the picture from this LED better. .
, IP 24.38.9.130
  • Emma
  • 2013-11-22 11:25:14
I bought this TV on sale, there were a lot of concerns from other buyers (including myself) because of the price. sony xbr55x850a review My mom and brother also bought this TV, with my recommendation, for Christmas gifts. .
, IP 24.38.9.130
  • Zahara
  • 2013-11-21 15:11:21
This is a good TV for the money. xbr55x850a at walmart It is a large TV so it is only appropriate for a large room. .
, IP 216.54.114.6
  • Ava
  • 2013-11-21 15:11:19
The TV has great sound and picture quality. xbr55x850a at walmart The TV arrived within a couple of days after ordering and only required the installation of the stand. .
, IP 216.54.114.6
  • Nathanial
  • 2013-11-19 16:14:56
Crystal clear tv makes smaller screen easy to see. best deal on sony xbr55x850a Very lightweight and easy to mount. Took about 5 minutes to mount with only one person..
, IP 98.234.20.31
  • Phoenix
  • 2013-11-19 13:28:19
The image is very clear and sharp, the TV is light and the sound is really clear. XBR55X850A for sale If you are looking for a budget TV and you are not into frilly things, this is the device for you. I would buy this again. .
, IP 206.29.180.51
  • Ian
  • 2013-11-19 13:11:21
It is exactly what I expected. Good picture and sound. Sony xbr55x850a reviews Good luck with your purchase! .
, IP 166.147.72.41
  • Daniela
  • 2013-11-17 12:18:45
This is the best TV I have ever seen. xbr55x850a vs 55w900a The picture is amazing. The Netflix and Amazon components work great! .
, IP 24.239.199.181
  • Luke
  • 2013-11-16 22:29:59
Great looking-Every option-Perfect picture-Great price-I would recommend this TV to everybody sony XBR55X850A review Fast shipping and was everything that I expected and more..
, IP 64.92.62.33
  • Gaylene
  • 2013-11-16 22:10:12
Totally Satisfied with this TV. sony XBR55X850A review If you like to download video file and watch it with TV, You dont have to connect your computer to TV with HDMI. At least With this TV..
, IP 64.92.62.33
  • Dallas
  • 2013-11-14 18:19:48
Great looking-Every option-Perfect picture-Great price-I would recommend this TV to everybody sound on xbr 55x850a is it good. Fast shipping and was everything that I expected and more..
, IP 99.24.157.148
  • Unity
  • 2013-11-14 11:39:46
I bought this TV for my bedroom and just got it hooked up. sony xbr55x850a review The TV is light weight and extremely easy to set up by screwing it onto the base. .
, IP 199.64.0.254
  • Anthony
  • 2013-11-13 21:46:24
Great picture quality, great sound quality. Love this tv! sony xbr55x850a review Everyone has been impressed with the quality..
, IP 68.8.228.92
  • Paris
  • 2013-11-09 11:58:53
So far it has been a great tv great sound great picture quality. sony xbr55x850a review Easy to set up and hook up to everything..
, IP 68.8.228.92